lt’s 21.5 C and I’m Freezing to Death!

8 Jan

So, something finally happened that I thought would never happen.  I have become used to the heat of India.  It happens slowly, almost sneaks up on you…unexpectedly, and then all of a sudden you are wearing long pants and a sweatshirt when you go out at night.  You ride by a family of five on their motorbike and they are all wearing jackets and wool hats and you look at them and say, “It’s freaking cold.”

Never in my life would I have thought that I would be cold at 71° F but it has happened.  Astrid and I wake up in the night stealing the blanket from each other because we are so cold.  We have taken to wearing our sweatshirts to bed to keep from waking up.  The last thing I want to do in the morning is walk on the cement floors barefoot.  What is happening to me?

Four months ago, I thought it strange when I saw the people from the plains in Darjeeling in October wearing jackets, scarves and wool hats.  Now it is totally understandable.

We both freak out about returning to New York in mid-February where the temps will probably be below zero with a Noreaster blowing through and Astrid and I will have nothing but our light travel clothes to keep out the cold.  BRRRR.  I assume people will be looking at us like WE are crazy then…what goes around comes around. 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

