Exploring Varanasi

22 Sep

Just when you let your guard down for a second and think- hey I don’t have to worry about people hawking things or trying to get me to use their rickshaw…well think again.

Although the rickshaw wallahs in Varanasi will actually listen to you if you say you don’t want a rickshaw, no one else will. Who knew there were so many things that I could buy if I wanted to. Jewelery, silk saris, rides on a boat, and the list goes on and on.

The easiest way that I have found to get rid of hawkers and touts is to say “Maybe tomorrow.” They seem to understand this more than saying “no,” and actually back off.

Astrid and I were at the Manikarnika Ghat yesterday, just getting pounced on by “friends” that had many wonderful things to sell us, and consequently getting very frustrated- you see even if you want a nice quiet time alone with your wife, you can’t have it- because six people are following you trying to talk you out of your money. Well, this one hawker seeing how frustrated we were came out of his stall and said:

Hawker: Come take a look at my shit, I have monkey shit, elephant shit, many kinds of shit.

 Me: (Not totally hearing him) No thank you.

 Hawker: What you don’t want to look at my shit? You don’t need my shit?

 Me:(Finally understanding the conversation) **busts out laughing** No I don’t want to see your shit!

It was totally unexpected and made me realize that everyone needs a good laugh now and again while in India.

Cheers

One Response to “Exploring Varanasi”

  1. Sihaya September 22, 2007 at 3:29 pm #

    That’s awesome! I’m glad you guys are enjoying yourselves and I love the blog.

    Love Both Heaps!

    Sihaya

Leave a Reply

